giwake

Here's my blog. Updated occasionally.

The Planning of Zombie Game - 17/6/2021

This is my big project! This is a small game about... zombies! It's only in it's very early stages of development and I'm still planning it out.
The game is planned to be somewhat large, much larger than anything I've worked on before. I'm a bit nervous I'll lose steam, but hopefully I'll be able to finish it!

I don't have a title yet, but I do have a lot of plans to make. I've got a plot, some characters, some art and an engine. I've made the first cutscene and a short tutorial.
So yeah. That's what's going on. I might post a photo of some of the plans in a later post.

Here's a silly thing I did a while back... :P

Experiments With A Weird Engine - 17/5/2021

I'm currently working on a (secret!) game project using Raycasting Game Maker. This tool is, frankly, awful.
It requires a massive amount of experimenting and fixing janky imported sprites, mouse control is broken to hell and back, it's extremely limited and won't really do much in terms of modern game development but it's fun to use for some ungodly reason.

I'm using version 4, which has some limitations compared to the slightly more modern version 5, but I haven't run into them yet.
I don't know why I was drawn to it back in the first quarter of 2020, but it's oddly fun to use. Sketching maps is a joy and making sprites is pretty quick and easy, albeit a bit challenging with most sprites and textures being limited to a 32x32 pixel space.

I think the best part of making this game is just how goofy I'm getting with it. A lot of my games had a bit of a serious tinge to them, but this time I'm going all out. To hell with seriousness!

Haven't got a name for the game yet, but it's going good!

The downfall of YouTube - and how capitalism killed it - 7/5/2021

If one is to open Youtube in 2021 with no account, you'd see compilations of "funny" moments from TV shows uploaded by big corporations, challenge videos uploaded by people with massive subscriber counts and reaction videos by big livestreamers.
If one were to open Youtube in 2010 with no account, you'd see unique creations. Animations done by 1 person, skits made with a cheap camera by a few friends, music videos by indie bands, vlogs by everyday people.

What happened? What happened to the induviduality and unique content Youtube gave? What happened to the viewerbase that Youtube gave to independent creators?

Capitalism.
To elaborate, multiple incidents in Youtube's history resulted in the website favoring those with money, time and power, leaving those who could not (or would not) change stuck with a low viewer count and little to no new fans.

The most notable incident is the algorithm switch of 2012. In 2012, Youtube's algorithm switched from encouraging high view counts to encouraging videos with longer watch times, meaning that is suggested videos that were watched for longer.
The issue with this is that it forces creators to make content that is long and constantly uploaded. Videos like let's plays, compilations of existing content or snippets from livestreams began to thrive under this switch, while smaller content creators who were unable to make their content at the same length got recommended less and less.
Additionally, Youtube got rid of many things that would be useful to smaller content creators. In the early days of the site, the front page had a section to show off the videos that people were currently watching, videos made by random people were chosen to be featured on the front page and the most popular videos, divided by the now-forgotten "category" system, were showcased on the front page too.
Nowadays it's just a barrage of random videos with no coherency. Jimmy Kimmel and MrBeast rule the trending tab. Originality has been superceded by the reuse and stealing of one's own and other's content. Money and greed have taken over the site and no one cares for the smaller channels.

Another thing I'd like to mention is that Youtube used to allow users to customize so much of their channel. You used to be able to use custom images, change up the colour scheme and even rearrange parts of the channel, yet these features were removed in favor of a more uniform design, stripping the artwork and creativity down to a profile picture, a header and nothing else.
Hell, there's so many more features that were cut out that were incredibly useful. Annotations were used to correct errors, provide links in videos or even create games, yet they were cut out for barely-noticable "info-cards" (I don't know the proper name for them) and end slates, which limit you to showing your channel and some videos. If one wants to correct an error, they have to put an info-card up and post a comment. Good luck getting that info to those watching on TVs, where the comment section isn't available and info-cards don't work.

The worst part is that there's nothing that can be done about it. Youtube and Google have such a large monopoly on video streaming. They're the only ones who are able to take care of the massive amounts of video. I've seen countless websites come and go, marketing themselves as the "alternative" Youtube. DailyMotion and Vimeo aren't used that often and the only other one I can think of is BitChute, which has been almost completely taken over by weirdo nazis.

The funny part is that Google's old motto was "Don't Be Evil."

The Quest for A Good Camcorder - 5/5/2021

I'm a big fan of camcorders. I prefer them over the low-quality and optical zoom-less phone cameras, the only marginally better "point and shoot" cameras and the bulky and overpriced DSLR cameras.
Why? I'm not really sure, it probably has something to do with the fact that I used them a lot when I was younger. I made a bunch of movies on an old Sony MiniDV camcorder and I grew to love using it.
Something about them just feels... nice. They have a premium feeling to them that I simply cannot describe... Anyway, I prefer them a lot over most other cameras.
In fact, I've never found a "proper camera" that feels as nice as using a camcorder is. I have a pretty simple way of determining whether or not a camcorder is good:

1: What resolution does it record to? Worst is something like 160*90, best is 1080p, which I consider to be the best of all resolutions.
2: What is its battery size? How long does a battery last? Worst is about 30 minutes or below, best is 3-4 hours and above.
3: How easy is it to use? Is recording convinient? Is getting the footage off the camera quick and easy? Worst is using proprietary formats/storage mediums, delayed recording and requiring the purchase of an adaptor, best is using common formats, easy recording and built-in connections to computers.
Here are the rankings for my past and current camcorders:

Panasonic HC-V180k ($349 AUD @ Officeworks)
Resolution: 5/5. Records in 1080p and is very nice! Also has a pretty nice optical zoom.
Battery: 3/5? Cannot recall battery size. Do remember I rarely needed to charge it. Did lose the charger though.
Convinience: 4/5. Camera had a bit of a delay and was a little bit weird when it came to taking pictures. Getting videos off camera requires an SD card reader.

Sony TCR-TRV17E (Price Unknown)
Resolution: 1/5 - 3/5. Digital recording records at 160 * 90, 15 FPS. Analogue recording is at unknown resolution, 50-60 FPS
Battery: 4/5. Lasts a surprising amount of time, about 2 1/2 hours.
Convinience: 1/5. Records to MiniDV mainly. That stuff is HARD to rip. Additionally, the digital recording uses an obscure storage medium, looks like an extended SD card.

Sony DCR-SX65 ($39 from CashConverters)
Resolution: 4/5. Records in 540p-ish? I'm not exactly sure what the resolution is.
Battery: 4/5. Lasts 2 1/2 hours, plus additional batteries are easily found online.
Convinience: 5/5. Delay before recording is minimal, records to MKV files, uses SD cards and even has a built in USB cable for easy connections!

As you can see, no camera I have owned gets a perfect score. All of them have their own flaws, but I feel like the DCR-SX65 is pretty good right now. It's going to be my main camera for quite a while now.
Will there ever be a perfect camera? Probably not. I'd find at least 1 flaw with any camera.
It's kind of sad that camcorders are slowly being phased out. Their convinience really helped me get into filmmaking and I feel like they could have made so many things easier for so many people.
Alas, we seem to be devolving to the time of cheap, shitty point and shoot cameras and mediocre, overpriced DSLRs.

BlogWrite tool - 5/5/2021

BlogWrite is my personal tool made to help me write blog posts on my website.
It allows me to cut down on the time required to write a blog post, meaning that I can write posts quickly and easily!

Features include:
* Datestamping of posts
* Consistent formatting between posts
* A character count!
* Automated line breaks

As you can see, it's not on the same level as Microsoft Word or even Notepad, but it gets the job done and I think it's good enough.
I don't have plans to release it right now, but if enough people want it I'll consider it.